Steve Jobs made a few announcements today, one of which was that the new iPod will be able to display video . This device represents the infrastructure, or the “last mile” limitation – meaning that with this device, it enables a couple of other developments that have me really jumping out of my seat.

iTunes will now sell videos of previously broadcasted TV shows! This greatly increases the scope of the “subscription” business model. I’m excited about it because I feel it greatly affects the world of marketing.

Regardless of how the consumer will embrace this new device, it has taken the first steps of removing advertising out of the broadcast business model (aka. Interruption Marketing). Would you pay $1.99 for *NOT* to see advertising in your favorite show? Would you pay $1.99 to save the 20 minutes of advertising in a typical hour of TV watching. My time is worth a lot more than $1.99 for 20 minutes (at least that is how I feel about it!)

Based on the reaction of the people around me – everybody is very, very excited about the possibilities.

How far behind is a subscription model for marketing?

What do you think? Would you like to subscribe to marketing? If we could, we would only get the information that we are looking for, rather than filter out the stuff that we don’t want.

Apple did it for TV!

